In which I join a club and Facebook.

I joined the Beaumont Camera Club, after attending a meeting Monday night. (They meet the first and third Mondays of the month.) I plunked down $30 for a one-year membership, and even though the scheduled speaker/presenter did not appear (he was to teach us about photojournalism, which fascinates me) I stayed and had a good time.

The club is planning a trip to the Ozark Mountains of Arkansas sometime in October, and I’m thinking of going. I’m not much for landscapes (I’m getting drawn more and more to street photography, and the works of Brandon Stanton and Vivian Maier) but I like road trips and hiking, and I need practice with the few landscapes I do take.

The club president mentioned that I might want to join Facebook, as they have a private page or whatever on it, and I could gain access to all sorts of secrets. Inwardly, I grimaced. I had a Facebook account a long time ago, but that was mainly for the pharmacy technician course I was taking; my fellow students had grand plans of organizing study groups and all that. Nothing came of it, and I ended my account.

But tempted by secrets, I joined up again. My Mustang club has a Facebook page as well, so there’s that. And maybe I will learn some secrets, as soon as they approve my request.

Leave a comment